1 Samuel 2:1-11

I love the fact that we can experience both side of Hannah’s story. I am sure that many of us can identify with her story.

Can you believe the difference that we see in Hannah? From desperation, from a crushed hope  to joy, to triumphant words of encouragement? Is this the same person we met in chapter 1?

I’m bursting with God-news!
    I’m walking on air.
I’m laughing at my rivals.
    I’m dancing my salvation.

You can say that we are talking about a different person, and to some degree we are. Hannah is changed, she is full of good news, excited about life and she has all the reasons for it. Her faith came through, God kept his promise, and now it is her time to do her part. She brings the child to the temple to serve for the rest of his life, but she takes time to proclaim what God has done.

Her thanksgiving prayer is indeed a beautiful example of thanksgiving, of proclaiming God’s greatness, but I think it goes even deeper than that. Her prayer comes from experience, from seeing God at work and recognizing the blessings in her life.

I pray that as we experience life on day to day we can recognize the hand of God working in our lives and be as excited about life just like Hannah was.

Be blessed

Bo