One of the hymns we sing on occasion begins this way:

Of the Father’s love begotten
ere the worlds began to be,
He is Alpha and Omega;
He the source, the ending He,
of the things that are, that have been,
and that future years shall see
evermore and evermore!

The hymn is “Of the Father’s Love Begotten” and reminds me, in part, of the meaning of Alpha and Omega.  The other reminder for me is, of course, from Scripture…3 times in the Book of Revelation are heard the title, “I am the Alpha and the Omega”.  Alpha and Omega, the first and last letters of the Greek alphabet…God – Father, Son and Holy Spirit – first and last, beginning and end…eternal.  God, who created everything out of nothing and who promises to all who will place their faith in him this vision of hope…

“Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. And I saw the holy city, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “See, the home of God is among mortals. He will dwell[b] with them; they will be his peoples, and God himself will be with them, he will wipe every tear from their eyes.  Death will be no more; mourning and crying and pain will be no more, for the first things have passed away.”  And the one who was seated on the throne said, “See, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this, for these words are trustworthy and true.” Then he said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give water as a gift from the spring of the water of life. Those who conquer will inherit these things, and I will be their God and they will be my children.” (Revelation 21:1-7)

Hope…in this often hard world we hear the words, Alpha and Omega, and we can be renewed in hope that there is more for those who believe and trust in God made real to us in Jesus the Christ by the power and daily presence of his Holy Spirit who gives us the end of the story, See, I am coming soon; my reward is with me, to repay according to everyone’s work. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, the beginning and the end.”  If this is not the greatest love, well…..


This coming week’s readings:

Monday, February 5, 2018 Exodus 33-34 Psalm 16 Matthew 27 Craig R.
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 Exodus 35-36 Proverbs 16 Matthew 28 Karl
Wednesday, February 7, 2018 Exodus 37-38 Psalm 17 Mark 1 Matt
Thursday, February 8, 2018 Exodus 39-40 Proverbs 17 Mark 2 Bo
Friday, February 9, 2018 Leviticus 1-3 Psalm 18 Mark 3-4 Karissa
Saturday, February 10, 2018 Leviticus 4-5 Proverbs 18 Mark 5 Dale