Matthew 5:9

Matthew 24:35-37

Matthew 28: 19-20

1 Corinthians 6:20

There is plenty to be afraid of these days. I’m not just talking spiders and snakes here. Just sit down and watch a half hour of the local or national news, and you know what I am talking about. Just scroll through Facebook or Twitter and you will know what I mean. Half the time, you may not be sure if you are supposed to do the Monty Python…“Run away!” or seek vengeance like Maximus Decimus Meridius (Gladiator).

And why does it seem like there is so much evil in this world all of a sudden? Isn’t there ANY positive left in this world? Why do newscasts seem to only focus on the negative? Is there really more crime in the world today than there was 50 or 100 years ago, or is it just that the 24 hour news cycle is never-ending and only covers the negative?

I’ve been reading and hearing people say that we are headed toward end times and that all that we see in the media is obvious evidence that the ball is in motion. Should I be concerned about this? Is Kim Jong Un or Donald Trump going to start the war to end all wars? Or what about global warming? Should I really be concerned about this? Do I/we really have any control over what happens with our global climate?

I think it is very easy to get caught up in all of this thought. I can say that I am somewhat concerned with what is going on this the world here in 2017. I do get concerned with the crime rates and how close to home some of the violent crimes have been. I do get concerned over the rhetoric between the U.S. and North Korea. I do worry a bit about the amount of pollution humans inject into the environment and the ramifications of those actions.

But at the same time, I have to ground myself in scripture and remind myself of a few things that could benefit all of us. First and foremost, even though there may be some “signs” of the end of the age, we don’t really know for sure. Back in the Middle Ages, people thought we were at the end of the age as half of Europe was dying of bubonic plague. But that didn’t happen. Sure, we could be at the end of times, but no one, not even the Son of Man, knows the time. So I choose to put that in the hands of the Lord. Second, rather than poking the proverbial beehive or seeking retaliation, I choose to be a peacemaker. Now I do have to admit here that my German and Irish background have also granted me stubbornness and a short temper at times, which get in the way with my peacemaking. But I would rather see diplomacy than war. Finally, I have the reassurance that no matter what, Jesus is always with us. Although we may forsake Him from time to time, he will never forsake us.

So, today and always, let’s be peacemakers and put our trust in the Lord. We have no control over His plan, but we can trust in it. Our job here on Earth is to bring glory to God’s name. I pray that somehow, the rest of the world would do the same.

