John 16:13-15 The Message (MSG)

12-15 “I still have many things to tell you, but you can’t handle them now. But when the Friend comes, the Spirit of the Truth, he will take you by the hand and guide you into all the truth there is. He won’t draw attention to himself, but will make sense out of what is about to happen and, indeed, out of all that I have done and said. He will honor me; he will take from me and deliver it to you. Everything the Father has is also mine. That is why I’ve said, ‘He takes from me and delivers to you.’

Today I want to follow up on the Sermon I preached couple weeks ago: I believe in the Holy Spirit.

I have to admit that as a guy I have a hard time asking for directions or for help. It must be that “I am a man and I can handle it” mentality that men are so known for. I will confess to you that I get lost when I drive, I need the GPS to tell me where to go and provide me with clear turn by turn directions. Today I rely on my phone for that function, because it works. I do not have to be concerned with watching a screen, or shuffling through a map, I just drive and follow the voice.

Getting to this point of comfort it has not come easy for me. I did not trust the machine at first, I had to check and plan my route myself, I ignored the directions multiples times. But I am at the point where I am comfortable with just listening and following the voice of the GPS.

It is the same with God. As we start our walk in the Spirit, the voice and the direction God will have us follow it will seem strange to us. Not only that but we tend to rely on ourselves and make our path, even when we know what God wants. I see that in me. I see that in you. I see that around us day after day. We are called to love and yet we live in discord. We are called to help our neighbor and yet we still try to define who the neighbor is. And all along the gentle reminder of God’s will, The Spirit of God is tugging at our hearts, come this way and follow me, come and see Jesus.

I pray that as we walk with God, we will be tuned in the Spirit’s frequency and be able to follow where God leads.

 

Be blessed,

Bo M.

