Galatians 1:6-10

Matthew 7:15-20

Ephesians 6:10-18

Clearly, Paul is disappointed in the Galatian people at the beginning of his letter to them. Just a few years before this, Paul and Barnabas visited several towns in the province of Galatia to preach the gospel. In just a short amount of time, the churches established by Paul started to falter a bit and were reverting back to their beliefs that they needed to follow the laws of Moses in order to be saved, rather than living in the grace given to us through Jesus. So Paul starts out his letter by stating that no matter who comes along saying anything contrary to the one true gospel is not speaking truth.

Jesus warns of false prophets in Matthew 7. We are surrounded by these many false prophets daily. There are many influences in this world, both positive and negative. So how do we ensure that we are prepared to face these false prophets and not be drawn away from the one true gospel. In Ephesians, Paul tells us to put on the armor of God. This armor is built with an understanding of scripture. I know I am guilty of not reading and studying the Bible enough. I am not one who can quote scripture verbatim all that well. I know I need to be more committed to reading and studying God’s word. But every little bit helps. That is one of the many reasons why I am glad that First Pres has this blog to follow. In my busiest days, this blog might be my only interaction with the Bible and other believers.

So today, I give thanks for First Pres, the blog, and my opportunities to read, study, and share my thoughts with everyone.

