b2dda20aa48740f029852a252283025e

Scott Darling Letter

Genesis 1:26-31

I came across this a few days ago. It is a very long read, but well worth your time to read it. You may or may not be a hockey fan. You may or may not know who Scott Darling even is. The letter has no references to religion, the Bible, or being Christian. I still encourage you to read the whole letter. Scott Darling was a goalie for the Chicago Blackhawks until this past spring when he was traded. Through a good chunk of his life, he suffered from alcoholism, which landed him in rehab. He eventually overcame his demons, and the rest, as they say, is history.

I want to share this letter with you because to a certain degree, it relates to me, and I’m guessing, plenty of other people in this world. Although I have never battled alcoholism, those of you who read this blog regularly know I have written about my experiences with anxiety. As I read this letter, I found myself, in certain parts, saying YES, that’s me too. I am concerned too much at times with how other people see me and what they may think of me. As much as I try to will myself into trying to not think about it, the more I think about it. No different than the more I try to forget that there is ice cream in the freezer that I don’t really NEED to eat, the more my brain says that a scoop (or three) won’t hurt too much.

What I, and anyone else who has worried too often about what others think, need to remember is something from the very beginning. In Genesis, when God has created each of the pieces of what we know as the universe, he looked at the pieces and deemed them to be good. On the 6th day, when he created mankind, he created mankind in HIS image; and when finished, said it was VERY good. I/we have to remember that when the Bible makes that statement, although it may be in reference to the creation of man and woman, it applies to all other people that have been given life since the dawn of time. We ALL are VERY good in the eyes of God. So why does it really matter so much what others think?

Just as Scott Darling eventually came to realize that what he has, lots of others in this world would give their right arm for, we have been blessed beyond measure. When God spoke to Moses at the burning bush, one of the laws he handed down said “You shall not covet…” (Ex 20:17). I think that often, when I worry about others too much, it is because I get caught up wishing I had something they have. Maybe I wish I had their looks, or their ability to hit a straight drive on the golf course, or whatever. Instead, as Scott Darling discovered, I need to become comfortable being exactly who I am and what skill set I have. I can only be me, no one else. If I come across people who don’t like me as is, then maybe I just don’t need to have them be an important part of my life.

In closing, cherish the life that you have. You may be facing giants in your life at the moment, but remember the boy shephard who had no chance of beating the most feared soldier of the Philistine army took down that giant with just a sling and stone. And in the same way, as we have read over the past several days, Job fought through adversity and as a result of his faith, his blessings were doubled. We may not understand why we are who we are, but God created us to be just exactly who He intended us to be. We may not know his plan, but if we remain true to Him, he will bless us all the same. We can overcome!

