Yesterday Pastor Craig ask a good question : What do you do to refresh your soul?

I find myself from time to time just going and going, without taking time to pause and rest my soul. I get caught up in the work and the mundane, on the task that each day brings, and sometimes I get to the point where I lose the joy of finding fulfillment in the things that normally brings me joy and help me going on. Sometimes that continue pressure of going takes over passion and the excitement that ministry brings.

And when that happens I need to pause and return to the basics, because without that joy and passion my life is empty. For me that pause sometimes means that I need to go grocery shopping, spend time cooking, or catch up with a good friend. It means that I need to disconnect from my regular routine, and change things up. When that happens I stop and take inventory of the blessings I sometimes take for granted.

Last night during session, somebody gave me a little photo album with pictures from the past few years of ministry. As I was skimming trough it, my heart rejoiced, my soul was blessed by those smiling faces I had seen in some precious moments of ministry and life. And in those moments I am reminded that God is good, and my soul is refreshed.

Psalm 16:8-11English Standard Version (ESV)

I have set the Lord always before me;
    because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad, and my whole being[a] rejoices;
    my flesh also dwells secure.
10 For you will not abandon my soul to Sheol,
    or let your holy one see corruption.[b]

11 You make known to me the path of life;
    in your presence there is fullness of joy;
    at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

 

 

Today I pray that each one of us can stop, pause and experience a moment of refresh, a moment when we can truly  take hold of what the Lord has for us.

Be blessed,

 

Bo M.

