plan

Psalm 8

Job 38:1-11

2 Timothy 1:8-12a

In each of these three passages, the common thread is that God is creator of all things. He created the heavens and Earth, and all things on Earth. He gave us grace even before time existed! He gave us, humans, dominion over all things here on Earth. He made us just a little lower than the angels.

What I want to focus most on in this writing is the Job passage. This is the latter portion of the book of Job, which chronicles the trials and tribulations of the title man. Job, who was faithful to God, was tested; no, he was TESTED! God allowed Satan to bring all sorts of horrible happenings to Job’s front doorstep. For a while, Job endured and remained faithful. But after so many times of being broken down and having things that seemed so great taken away, Job began to falter a bit. He started to give in to the great loss he suffered. God has finally seen and heard enough from Job and his friends, who have been counselling him. It is time for God to remind Job who is in charge.

As I read this passage, it brought a few things to mind. I first heard my own father back when I was a child, at my own childish wit’s end, not seeing eye to eye with my dad and his vision for my life at that point. Maybe it was not being able to go somewhere with friends, or not getting some sort of toy that I REALLY wanted. And my father basically sitting me down and saying “Hey, look here son! I have been around the block a time or two. I know what you need and what you don’t need.”  I can see myself with my own son doing the same. And, of course, my own son says he has now surpassed the limits of my knowledge, at his ripe age of 5.

In the case of the conversation between God and Job, there is no contest. God is basically saying “Yo, Job! Ya, it is me, God. Remember me? Were you there when I created, like, EVERYTHING?! Do you, Job, know the exact dimensions of the entire Earth? Because I do! Exactly how many stars are out there? What, don’t know that answer? Well I do, Job!” God is saying, “Hey, Job, you may not understand yet why all of these horrible things have happened to you yet, but I have my reasons.”

We may not know what all God has in store for us. Things may not be exactly the way we would like them to be at this exact moment. Maybe your job isn’t what you had hoped for it to be. Maybe your house seems to be falling apart. Wouldn’t it be nice to have that fancy convertible car instead of that old minivan? But everything we have before us is because it is part of God’s plan for us. He may be teaching us a lesson about something. He may be saying that he has something even better in store for us than whatever our current wants are. Just like for Job, in the end, not only did God restore Job, but he doubled his fortune. Job 42:12 says “The Lord blessed the latter part of Job’s life more than the former part.” Just a few verses before that, Job spoke to God, saying “Surely I spoke of things I did not understand, things too wonderful for me to know.” We may not fully understand God’s plan or why He has placed us in the situations we currently face. But if we remain faithful and content to know this is what God has placed before us for reasons not yet known, He will be faithful to us and reward us.

