The Scriptures are peppered with covenants. In many ways covenants kept God’s story in the hearts of believers across cultures and history. But I have to ask: What made these covenants so real for so many people? There has to be something more than blind faith. Ezekiel records one of those covenants as it applies to the people of Israel and David.

Ezekiel 34:23-31 The Message (MSG)

23-24 “‘I’ll appoint one shepherd over them all: my servant David. He’ll feed them. He’ll be their shepherd. And I, God, will be their God. My servant David will be their prince. I, God, have spoken.

25-27 “‘I’ll make a covenant of peace with them. I’ll banish fierce animals from the country so the sheep can live safely in the wilderness and sleep in the forest. I’ll make them and everything around my hill a blessing. I’ll send down plenty of rain in season—showers of blessing! The trees in the orchards will bear fruit, the ground will produce, they’ll feel content and safe on their land, and they’ll realize that I am God when I break them out of their slavery and rescue them from their slave masters.

28-29 “‘No longer will they be exploited by outsiders and ravaged by fierce beasts. They’ll live safe and sound, fearless and free. I’ll give them rich gardens, lavish in vegetables—no more living half-starved, no longer taunted by outsiders.

30-31 “‘They’ll know, beyond doubting, that I, God, am their God, that I’m with them and that they, the people Israel, are my people. Decree of God, the Master:

You are my dear flock,
    the flock of my pasture, my human flock,
And I am your God.
    Decree of God, the Master.’”

The idea of the covenant starts with promises being made, promises that later on are solidified when the two parties get to know each other. On one side you have God that knows his people, and on the other side you have people that learn about who God is. It is that balance of knowing and learning that makes a biblical covenant lasting. As we continue to discover who God is, as we grow to know his character we learn to experience his promises. But a covenant will only be a covenant as long as the relationship between the two parties stays alive, as long as the two parties  stay faithful and strive to grow in that unity that a covenant brings.

Today I would like to challenge you to search your heart and see where are you in your own covenant with God. I know for myself, I am always challenged to see and believe the covenant laid before me. At times it is the doubt or the pressures that life brings time and time again. Other times my own insecurities that make me doubt about God’s promises. But at the end of the day one thing stands true: God is God, a God that knows who I am and what I struggle with, and with all that God will continue to be the God of the covenant that he made. So take time to remember who God is, take time to see God in a new light faithful to the promises He made, and faithful that they will be carried out because He is God.

Be blessed,

Bo M.

