This morning I was late on writing my blog, and as I was finishing a meeting with the day deacons, I felt compelled to pause and pray for some of the people that we visit each moth. I found a prayer from the Worship Book to be a great companion to my prayer, so I will share that with you:

 

We praise you, God our creator, for your handiwork

in shaping and sustaining your wondrous creation.

We especially thank you for

the miracle of life and the wonder of living . . .

particular blessings coming to us in this day . . .

the resources of the earth . . .

gifts of creative vision and skillful craft . . .

the treasure stored in every human life. . . .

We pray for others, God our Savior,

claiming your love in Jesus Christ for the whole world

and committing ourselves to care for those around us in his name.

We especially pray for

those who work for the benefit of others . . .

those who cannot work today . . .

those who teach and those who learn . . .

people who are poor . . .

the church in persecution. . . .

God our creator,

yours is the morning, and yours is the evening.

Let Christ, the sun of righteousness,

shine forever in our hearts

and draw us to the light of your radiant glory.

We ask this for the sake of Jesus Christ, our Redeemer. Amen.

