Psalm 16New International Version (NIV)

Psalm 16

A miktam[a] of David.

Keep me safe, my God,
    for in you I take refuge.

I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
    apart from you I have no good thing.”
I say of the holy people who are in the land,
    “They are the noble ones in whom is all my delight.”
Those who run after other gods will suffer more and more.
    I will not pour out libations of blood to such gods
    or take up their names on my lips.

Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
    you make my lot secure.
The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
    surely I have a delightful inheritance.
I will praise the Lord, who counsels me;
    even at night my heart instructs me.
I keep my eyes always on the Lord.
    With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices;
    my body also will rest secure,
10 because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead,
    nor will you let your faithful[b] one see decay.
11 You make known to me the path of life;
    you will fill me with joy in your presence,
    with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Every time I read the Psalms, I am always impressed by the deep connection that I see between the writer and God. It is not just a general knowledge of God, but a deep personal understanding that one has that comes from a daily walk with God. It is part good theology, things one learns from reading the scriptures and going to church, listening to the Word of God being taught and living out day-to-day those teachings. It is something that goes beyond head knowledge or heart knowledge. In a way it is the perfect union of spiritual and earthly living.
Faith comes from hearing, and living makes that faith stronger as one lives it out. Somewhere along the way, I feel we lost that value, of seeing the knowing of God intertwined with living out his promise.
As we experience this season of Easter, let us bring our hearts and minds closer to our day-to-day, that place where we know and are known by the mercy of the resurrected Lord.
Be blessed,
Bo M.
