Psalm 119:33-40

 

Exodus 22:21-27

1 Corinthians 10:23-11:1

“Whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”

This statement from I Corinthians can be overwhelming. It suggests, no it really states, that every action a person takes needs to be giving glory to God.  Think of just the basic implications of this – sleeping, eating, brushing your teeth, texting, watching Netflix, – everything should have the aim of honoring God.

If this was truly our goal every moment as a Christian, how would our lives… how would your life have to change?

When I was younger, my mother had a habit of praying while she was driving. This is a practice I do not necessarily condone. At times it was a little disconcerting as my brother and I would watch our mother drive while at the same time sending her requests up to God – often for the better part of five to ten minutes! If, during these prayer sessions,  one of us would start to say something the other would blurt out, “Wait! Mom’s not done with her prayers yet.” Perhaps the greatest moment in this prayer-driving history was the morning when my mother was so distracted by her silent prayers that she side-swiped the garage door, ripping the driver side mirror off the car. We have never let her live that down.

What was especially interesting to me as a boy was that my mother often prayed for things that seemed somewhat pointless. She might pray for a trip to the grocery story, a drive to another city, our day at school, or even going to a movie. As a 10 year old, I sometimes imagined that maybe she expected our family to stand outside the grocery story with a mega phone telling people they needed to repent. But, then she would always end her prayer with this statement, “That through this we will somehow bring you glory”.

As I read I Corinthians 10 today, I now realize that my mother was teaching my brother and I how to follow this great commandment. Her prayers about every day things were not pointless, but instead were showing us the main point. The main point being that the Christian life is not random, it is not about ourselves, but is instead a constant opportunity to reflect God’s glory.

