Unknown-1

 

Luke 10.27

Galations 5.22

John 14.15

We talked the other day about the lawyer in Luke 10. 25 who asked Jesus what he could do to inherit eternal life.  The answer was to “love  Jehovah your God with all you heart, soul, strength, and mind: and your neighbor as your self.”  Pondering this further than the brief description this blog allows I was thinking about love. I asked myself, “How do I love my wife, that is how do I show her ?  How does she love me?”

I  start each day by saying good morning, and as she leaves for work I say “I love you.” I actually tell her that often during the day, but more than the words alone,  I am faithful to her.  I work very hard to provide for her needs,  I support her when she is feeling lonely, sad, sick, distraught. I comfort her, cheer her up when she is down, I show kindness to her, I protect her.  I do most of the yard work, maintenance on the house and cars, and the things that a husband is expected to do in our culture.

On her behalf, she tells me she loves me and shows similar attitudes of kindnesses, and grace, plus she does my laundry.  She does the shopping for groceries, most of the cooking, most of the cleaning,  and pretty much lends an attitude of happiness in the house.  She does the things that a wife is expected to do in our culture.

Now how about showing God our love for Him?  He doesn’t eat, so we can’t cook for Him, He doesn’t need laundry done, or grass cut, and He’s never lonely so a hug won’t do any good.  So what do we do?

In the scriptures we are told in John 14.15 Jesus said “if you love me You will keep my commandments.”  The way, then, to show God we love him, is to be obedient to Christ’s commandments.  To love the Lord our God, and our neighbor as ourself.  To take it even further, if we are born of the Spirit, in Galations 5.25 it says “if we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.”  The fruit of the Spirit is described in verse  22 as “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law.”

As we live our lives we should be aware of the leading of the Holy Spirit working in us, maturing us in love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, etc. in our relationships with our spouses, friends0, co-workers, and acquaintances.  In so doing we not only are showing them true love, but showing God that we love Him too.

