Psalm 40:1-11

As we know, King David was an accomplished musician, poet, and composer.  He knew the secret to pouring out his heart to God whether in praise or passion or pleading was in the words and melodies coming from his heart through his voice and lyre.  Psalm 40 is one of the collection of Psalms he wrote for the choir director, to be sung in the court and for worship.  We also know that David was a very troubled person from the time of his youth throughout his rule over Israel.  His Psalms give us insight into his thoughts, emotions, and conversations with God.

This morning verses 6-10 speak to me loudly:

You take no delight in sacrifices or offerings.
    Now that you have made me listen, I finally understand[a
    you don’t require burnt offerings or sin offerings.
Then I said, “Look, I have come.
    As is written about me in the Scriptures:
I take joy in doing your will, my God,
    for your instructions are written on my heart.”

I have told all your people about your justice.
    I have not been afraid to speak out,
    as you, O Lord, well know.
10 I have not kept the good news of your justice hidden in my heart;
    I have talked about your faithfulness and saving power.
I have told everyone in the great assembly
    of your unfailing love and faithfulness.

When God is working in our hearts and lives, when we have a living, growing faith,  sharing what is in our hearts is important.  Find a way to let people–believers and non-believers–know what God is doing, how he is living and working in your life.  He deserves the praise, and our lives will be enriched and blessed for it.

Blessings and peace to all of you,

Anna

