images-4

 

Luke 11.13

Romans 8.5-8, 14-17

2 Corinthians 3.8

I was a teenager in the 1960’s and 70’s, I had a lot of friends that got into the hippie, free spirit, hitchhiking, walk in my shoes, pot smoking, FM listening, feather in your hair, free love movement. Everyone was searching for acceptance while trying to be different.  Many times after trying to converse with these friends it would not be uncommon for them to stop, stare straight at me and ask what I thought about our conversation, as though I were a third party observing and critiquing this rambling interchange.  To me it was agony although I didn’t verbalize those thoughts.  For the most part I couldn’t figure out what “grooving” meant, I didn’t know how “to keep on trucking,” and please, help me understand what an “omnigatherinium” is.

Today in the Christian world, I still find myself at a loss in trying to figure out what is meant by a “faith walk,” and being “relational,” and having “commonality,” and “functionality,” with the brotherhood.

I closed my last blog with these words, “We need to bask in the glory that God loves us to the end and supplies us with everything we need to be as beautiful as He is.”  I wondered after I wrote that, that perhaps those words were as cryptic to some, as my friends in the past were to me.

In the Luke passage,  Jesus tells a parable about a man who calls to his neighbor, at midnight,  that he needs to borrow some food to give to an unexpected guest. In their culture it would not be an uncommon occurrence at all. So the friend gives the begging one the food.  Jesus then goes on to compare human fathers with God, in verse 13, He says “If you being earthly know how to give good gifts, how much more will your heavenly Father give  the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him?” This is the fulness of the New Covenant that Jesus and Paul talked about all the time. The old testament Law couldn’t bring the Holy Spirit, the prophets were filled with the Spirit but couldn’t bestow Him to others. Only Jesus death, and resurrection could open the door for the Holy Spirit to come down, at the feast of Pentecost, to indwell those who believed in the finished work of Christ, Acts 2.4.  In Romans 8.14 we are assured, “For all who are being led by the Spirit of God , these are the sons of God,” and Romans 8.16 ” The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are the chldren of God.”

The Holy Spirit is the good gift that God gives us, a pledge for our security in Him, 2 Cor. 5.5, and the very one who leads us in righteousness, interceding for us in prayers, Ro.8.26. As we live our lives in submission to the leading of the Holy Spirit, 2 Cor. 3.18, we all “beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as from the Lord, the Spirit.”  Like the waves of the sea hitting the shore, never ending, the Spirit is changing us into His likeness.  We are being made as beautiful as He is, when we yield ourselves to His leading, always listening for His voice, and following Him. To be sure, the Holy Spirit is God, in the indwelling form, taking up residence in all who believe.  We know with certainty when He is guiding us, changing us into His image.

Karl

