21101

Luke 1:26-38

Well, this is a day late, but better late than never. In reflection on this passage, where the angel appears to Mary to announce that she will give birth to a baby who will be Jesus. Mary, of course, is taken aback at the beginning of the conversation, as I am sure we all would be if an angel of the Lord appeared to us to inform us of how the Lord is going to be using us. Increase the confusion when the angel tells Mary that she, a virgin, will give birth to a child. Wait, what? I’m going to be doing what? Is this for real?

But after the initial shock, how does Mary eventually respond to her new calling? 38 “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” I can only hope and pray that my response would be as faithful as Mary’s response. Nowhere in this passage does it say “Mary asked the angel for 24 hours to think it over, and talk to her family and friends.” There is no hesitation on her part. She simply responds with “I am your servant.” I also don’t see anywhere where it says “Thanks for the offer Sir Angel, but I’ve been pretty busy lately and really don’t have time for this. Can you please pick someone else instead?” Rather, Mary states “I hope what you say will come true.”
We too need to be faithful to God’s calling for us, and trust his plan. If we have this faith, nothing will be impossible (Matthew 17:20).

