bells-of-peace

“And in despair I bowed my head.  There is no peace on earth I said.  For hate is strong and mocks the song of peace on earth good will to men.”  So go the lyrics of the third verse of “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day” penned by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.  I was listening to it in the gym earlier this week sung by Casting Crowns (you can listen to it below)…as I was listening, I wondered how many hear the bells today.

Todays passage from 2 Thessalonians 3:6-18, is part of a letter written to the Thessalonian Church that knew hostilities and constant threats.  This passage speaks to the peace that believers already have…a peace they carry with them always.  As such, the church could know that they would not have to face such difficult times alone.  Difficult times we too know today!

Peace in all ways and all times was and is available!  What an awesome thought…and comfort…in Jesus the Christ…the Lord of Peace.  The Lord of Peace can bring you peace…a peace that is always available…a peace that knows no end!  This peace is the great confidence of the Church today and all her believers!!

And so we hear the following verse…“Then peeled the bells more loud and deep; God is not dead nor does he sleep.  The wrong shall fail, the right prevail, with peace on earth good will to men.”  Listen for the bells of peace…can you hear them ringing in your heart?  Let the Lord of Peace ring in your hearts today and always!! 

Click Here to Listen to “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day” by Casting Crowns

