xmas-travel-tree.jpg.image.784.410

Hebrews 11:1-4

“1 Faith shows the reality of what we hope for; it is the evidence of things we cannot see. Through their faith, the people in days of old earned a good reputation.”

I remember memorizing Hebrew 11:1 in Sunday School, Bible studies, and for the Bible Classes that were required by the Christian School I attended from 7-12th grades.  Today, let’s have a closer look at verse 2 as we wait for the coming of Jesus and Christmas.

It is interesting to me that the New Living Translation (quoted here) translates the text to state that the “people of old” earned a good reputation through their faith.  I have never really considered that my reputation could be tied to how I live out my faith.  If this is the case–and surely it is as it is written in scripture–then Advent becomes a fabulous opportunity for all of us to gain a good reputation and show the world around us what faith looks like and how we can live.

My mom has a reputation of being a woman of faith.  Her former colleagues, students, and church members all refer to my mom this way and have stories to tell of her prayers and steadfastness.  As a teacher at my Alma Mater, she left a legacy of faith that defines her reputation today.

What is the reputation that you have earned?  Will you use these days and weeks of Advent to demonstrate faith and in so doing earn a good reputation that is a reflection of Christ here on earth?  Let’s pledge to do this together as a faith community and followers of Jesus.

May this season bring you joy, and peace that you can share with others.

Anna

