lighthouse-in-the-storm-7532

I am still thinking about Sunday’s sermon text…Mark 9:14-29…for me it is a fascinating look at the realities we live today.  The main point on Sunday was our ability (or inability) to dare to trust…to dare to believe solely in Christ – amidst all the other powers we lift up.

Well…there was a tremendous amount of possibilities in that text – certainly too much for a 20 minute sermon slot.  I think the point I want to make here is the following…in addition to Sunday’s sermon…if we are paying attention in our daily lives, we will find the many ways God by his Holy Spirit seeks to work in us.  Many will call these coincidences…that is their choice.  But…I believe the God of all Creation seeks to work through those who open themselves to such potential.  We need to come down from the mountain in the arms of the One who we can trust…even when life has got us down.

As I was driving to the church on Sunday a song from one of my favorite groups, Casting Crowns, was playing…“Just Be Held” (you can listen to the whole song here).  I think the following portion of the lyrics supplements well the thoughts from Sunday:

So when you’re on your knees and answers seem so far away
You’re not alone, stop holding on and just be held
Your world’s not falling apart, it’s falling into place
I’m on the throne, stop holding on and just be held
Just be held, just be held

Lift your hands, lift your eyes
In the storm is where you’ll find Me
And where you are, I’ll hold your heart
I’ll hold your heart
Come to Me, find your rest
In the arms of the God who won’t let go

Presidents or politicians won’t do it…the Cubs winning the World Series may create a temporary euphoria…trusting in others is bound to lead to disappointment at some point…Go to the One…Jesus, who can satisfy your needs…provide you real rest.  Allow yourself to be held.

