Psalm 61: 2-4, New Living Translation

“From the ends of the earth, I cry to you for help when my heart is overwhelmed.  Lead me to the towering rock of safety, for you are my safe refuge, a fortress where my enemies cannot reach me.  Let me live forever in your sanctuary, safe beneath the shelter of your wings.”

If you were in Church yesterday, you heard a wonderful message delivered by Jim Mullins about the gift of nature and how we were created to be in it, enjoy it, and be stewards of this magnificent creation.  As we listened to Jim, Mark and I smiled at each other, knowing that following our time of worship in our beautiful church, we would continue to worship God out in his lovely creation from the vantage point of the Illinois River.

14647443_10208996533043483_133817879_oThis is a picture I took that shows how the river has carved sanctuaries into the rock over the millenia. Birds, plants, small animals, and even people have found refuge in these rocks which have provided a fortress of safety over the centuries.

Have you thanked God for providing the warmth of the sun today?  Have you gone to Him for sanctuary as you face problems and difficulties today?  Have you gone outside and rejoiced in the gift of nature and everything it provides through God’s design?  I hope you take a few minutes to do those things today and never forget how God is our refuge, our help, our Rock of Safety.

Anna

