Psalm 146

Proverbs 28:3-10

Ephesians 2:1-10

 

At work I’m responsible for quite a lot of things. I am an integral part of operations here, but I don’t operate alone. I can’t complete my tasks without direction from my boss or assistance from others in the office. I probably could figure out a lot on my own, because I’m resourceful, and there are some tasks I can do without direction, but not all. I submit much of myself to my superiors at work, so that I can complete the jobs they need done in order for things to run smoothly. What I do directly affects the programs that take place and people getting paid. When things go well I am appreciated, when I don’t follow direction to try to do something I’m unsure of, mistakes can be made. I am just 1 part of a complicated body.

There is one passage in particular that sticks out to me in today’s readings, in Psalm 146 is says 7“He upholds the cause of the oppressed and gives food to the hungry”. He goes on to talk about all the acts that HE does. But how does God do all those things himself? Much like my employer God’s busy, he’s got a lot of irons in the fire. So how does HE accomplish all he promises to us. The answer is simple. By using us, as his hands and feet! We are the body of Christ (1 Corinthians 12:27). We act out what he asks of us, and by doing so, HE works. If it weren’t for direction from my boss and help from my co-workers this facility wouldn’t run. The same goes for the Church. Without direction from the Bible and the word of God, his mission and vision can’t be followed. He needs all of us within this family to work together to feed the hungry, clothe the naked, lift up the oppressed, love the unloved.

Today while at work, at home or at play remember that what you do is only a small part of a larger operation. Without your help even a seemingly efficient process can break down. We are all required to pitch in. God cannot operate without us. He needs every person to do their part in spreading the Gospel and Love of Christ.

-Kristina

 

