Colossians 3.1-3

II Timothy 1.7

Having spent 45 years in construction, most of it out of doors, in industrial, commercial high rise, or residential project settings where there were little or no,  shall we say, more civilized amenities. No bath rooms with sinks and mirrors, just porta-johns, no lunch rooms or cafeterias, just the tail gate of a pick-uptruck, no air conditioning, no heat, no microwaves, electricity comes from a generator,  you get the picture. As a result the normal guy on the job, without civil restrictions, talked about the base things of his life. Usually women, alcohol, wranglings of some sort, legal troubles, hatreds of some type, prejudices, prurient desires and such. I usually didn’t fit into the conversations.  I often found myself removed from their desires and imaginations.  What they found amusing, I somehow didn’t. When they were troubled about some matter, and were seeking sound advise, they would often seek me out, in private, of course, for help.

Colossians 3.1-3 “If you have been raised up with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth. For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” Verses of scripture like this have become my mindset, I guess, and this is the way I see life.  I am not a mouse like person hiding in a corner, afraid of the world, scared of people, unable to fit in, which is a common view of the Christian, by the unsaved. But rather I have my mind absolutely set on the things of God, and the ribald things of this earth are so simplistic, useless, and foolish I just don’t get it.  I see eternal values, not the temporal values that are going to disappear with time.

Most of you reading this blog probably agree with me as you also have your mind set on the things above. II Tim. 1.7 ” For God has not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”  Just for the record, for encouragement, many of the guys who sought my advice, did come to salvation at a future time and made sure to seek me out to tell me.  This is the power of God who actually does seek the lost sheep, and finds, and restores them to His fold.  We serve a risen savior who is worthy to follow whole heartedly. He alone is worthy to obey in our daily lives.

Karl

