Luke 11.13

Galations 5.22

II Corinthians 6 1-3

 

Working these last two weeks on the evangelical crusade with Churches United for Christ I have become very aware of how easily people are offended.  Something I am sure our pastors face weekly.  If you were to state a political opinion you have alienated one half of the audience. If you were to generalize in any way, masculine vs. feminine, blue collar vs. white collar, racially, culturally, height, weight, health, strength, you name it, someone is waiting to be offended or alienated.  The point here is, Paul in II C0rinthians 6.1-3 says “Working together with God-Giving no cause for offense in anything, in order that the ministry be not discredited.”  The only way this can possibly happen is with the working of the Holy Spirit.  In Luke 11.13  Jesus states that if even we on earth” know how to give our children good gifts, how much more shall your Heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask Him?”  And in Galations 5.22 the fruit of the Holy Spirit is “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.”  So we all must daily  be filled with the Holy Spirit just to be inoffensive.  I am a pretty nice guy on my own, though there are some who know me best, that might find a few minor flaws in my being. If you talk to my children they can find a couple more to add to the list.  Just leave my wife out of this, her list is endless, and undoubtably biased.  So I, like you , must turn to the Lord daily to find all this fruit of the Spirit, and be amazed at how He cleans us up and makes us acceptable to Himself and others we are ministering to.

