dont20worry20be20happy

Matthew 6:25-34

Decision making is not always an easy task. In the case of this blog entry, I have been trying to nail down exactly what to write about for my entry for today. I finally decided that this passage from Matthew is fitting considering all of the negativity that surrounds us on a daily basis.
I think the message here is very straight forward. There are so many things that get our worries going each and every day. How will I get the bills paid this month? How can I afford to buy groceries? Will my family stay safe today? And on and on we can go. But where does all of that worry get us? Stressed. Anxious. High blood pressure. Things that prevent us from living the life that God intended for us to live. Here, Jesus reminds us that the birds and the flowers have no worries, yet they are provided for. How much more does God care about you and me than he does those things? Much more than we can imagine. So today, tomorrow, and as often as possible, when life seems to be knocking the wind out of you, think of these verses. In the words of Bobby McFerrin, “Don’t worry, be happy!” (Sorry that you may have that song stuck in your head the rest of the day).

