images  rainbow-over-ocean

images-2      images-1

Colossians 1:13-20 (NIV)

We went to a wedding, for our nephew, last weekend and nearly all of our extended family attended.  Smartphones were blazing away for all of the picture opportunities throughout the weekend.  Now we have a share file with nearly a 1,000 pictures.  The pictures are great to have once you sort through them all to select the really good ones and especially because we do not get together as an extended family often enough.  And now we have lots of good pictures to hold onto and to treasure.

If only we had a picture of God!  But we do, in a sense, for Colossians 1:15 reminds us that Jesus “is the image of the invisible God,…”  Jesus told the disciples on one occasion, “Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father” (John 14:9).

“Jesus is a picture of God, and as I gaze upon Christ, I yearn to see God, to be with God, to hear God’s voice, to see God’s movements. I yearn for some of the mystery of God to dissolve so that I may see and experience God more fully.  But for now, I have Jesus, the image of God, and I must gaze on him in the Gospels.  For when I gaze upon the words of Jesus I hear the voice of God; and when I gaze upon the activities and actions of Jesus I see God; when I observe the suffering of Jesus, I  know God’s deep, aching love for me; and when I reach out and touch Jesus in the Gospels, I lay my hand upon God.  Thanks be to God for the gift of Jesus and a clear and beautiful picture of God.”  Norman Shawchuck, “A Guide to Prayer for All who Walk with God”  

