Acts 9:32-42: Let’s get uncomfortable

Read the passage here

There are two interesting things that God’s doing in the this passage.  The most obvious is that God is healing.  That’s pretty cool but not a huge surprise.  We know God’s sovereign over His creation and we saw a lot of this in the ministry of Christ. The second thing that is interesting is that Peter is ministering a little further from home than usual.  Up to this point, most of the book has been set in or around Jerusalem.  Early on Christianity was mostly a movement comprised of Jews.  In fact conservative Jewish Christians often tried to force Jewish custom and tradition on new converts.  They had a tendency to be a little suspicious of God’s movement in Gentile communities.

Peter probably would not have been completely comfortable in these cities and he certainly would not have been comfortable staying in the house of a tanner (being around dead animals was prohibited by Jewish law).  We see a willingness on the part of Peter to make himself uncomfortable for the sake of the Gospel.  He could have stayed home, stuck to his Hebrew traditions and probably still served God pretty well.  Peter insisted on more than that.  He had a view of God’s Kingdom that spanned cultural, traditional and racial boundaries.  He was willing to be uncomfortable to be used in the Kingdom of God.

How often is our faith driven by our preferences and comfort rather than what’s actually best for the Kingdom of God?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Acts 9:32-42: Let’s get uncomfortable

  1. Regina Bonomo says:

    Today there is so much that makes us uncomfortable, so much that we/others are passionate about (politics, family, work place, ect.). It takes control/dedication to do and say what is right. When I can stay in control during those times I may be “uncomfortable” in any way. I always feel the Holy Spirit with me and what started as being very “uncomfortable” ends up being comforting for me and hopefully others…I can’t lie thou I am have a boss/friend that is Jewish and those conversations sometimes make me VERY Uncomfortable…. :))

    • Denise C. says:

      Being a christian today has a bit different meaning than it used to have. I can understand why the Jews were suspicious of the christian movement. I have encountered people who view me the same way. A friend of mine doesn’t accept help from people who call themselves christian because of how she was treated when she had a crisis in her life. We need to becareful as christians that we love and respect those in need and help them in their comfort zone rather than ours. Sometimes a few bad apples can hinder the gospel. Showing the difference in love can make all the difference in the world.

  2. Anna Johnson says:

    I dislike being uncomfortable. I will avoid situations, people, and activities that make me uncomfortable. The cultural perspective on this passage pricks at me and reminds me that following Christ isn’t something that guarantees comfort–it will,in fact, make one us quite UNcomfortable for the sake of the Gospel.

  3. Matthew Bonomo says:

    Growing up in an Italian Catholic house , Sunday mass, and an alter boy we never heard these stories. I had no idea that this even happened, Maybe I didn’t pay attention enough :-)… I pesonaly enjoy when I am around someone who doesn’t believe in Christ. Never uncomfortable, makes me feel my calling as a distant genertion of the apostles (Very distant I bet Peter thinks) …People want to believe, they just need to feel the love of Christ..We all do…

  4. Barb Rodgers says:

    .I think my greatest discomfort can be in my own family because they knew me before I was a
    believer -especially with my son who struggles with his own walk because of illness. But I am trusting
    God.to bring someone alongside my son to give him a friend in Christ

  5. Don Barnes says:

    Saying a prayer for your son,Barb.

  6. Craig Randolph says:

    The rising of Tabitha by Peter suggests a likeness and authority to that of Elisha (2 Kings 4:18-37) and Jesus (Luke 7:11-17, 8:51-56). The Spirit of God was with Peter in a big way and he knew it through it’s application. With that power at his disposal, I’m not sure that he could be put in an uncomfortable situation – new, certainly. A person knows the God’s Spirit is within him or her should be a confident person. God is helping us through circumstance regardless of our feelings. Life isn’t easy for anyone, harder for some than others, but easy for no one. Some of our problems are just the result of living on a fallen planet, others are a result of our own actions or inactions. The difference is that a Christian should go through life confident that the same Spirit that helped Peter is there helping us daily through our trials and tribulations (Heb. 13:5-8).

  7. Kari says:

    A wise person told once that life is lived on the edge of our comfort zone. I have learned over time that is indeed true. I also know that why we are “on the edge” we are not alone; there is always a helping hand there to support and guide us.

  8. Matt Blaser says:

    We only have one chance at a first impression. What a heck of a first impression Peter makes in this passage. May we all make good first impressions in our efforts to spread the word and love of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

